hdr isap 2019

Annual meeting 2020


The ISAP 2020 meeting was held as a virtual meeting on Friday, September 18th, 12:00pm to 2:00pm (CEST) as an online meeting


11:30 to 12:00pm    Council meeting (closed)
12:00 to 12:30pm   General Meeting: Welcome, ISAP discussion, and New Officers
12:30 to 2:00pm Young Investigator Session


ISAP Council and General Meeting

Retirement of Council members

The Council for the term 2018-2020 comprised:

  • Brian Tsuji (President)
  • Sebastian Wicha (President-Elect)
  • Zackery Bulman (Treasurer)
  • Jian Li (Secretary)
  • Council members: Hartmut Derendorf, Lena Friberg, Elizabeth Lakota, Justin Lenhard, Elisabet Nielsen, Roger Nation, Ursula Theuretzbacher, Markus Zeitlinger

In the light of many new nominations, Roger Nation, Hartmut Derendorf, Ursula Theuretzbacher, Elizabeth Lakota and Justin Lenhard retired from Council to provide new members the opPicture 2portunity to serve ISAP. With Ursula, Hartmut, and Roger, three former presidents of ISAP and longstanding ISAP members leave the Council.

Brian thanked all retiring Council members for their outstanding services to ISAP, without whom the society would not be the same as it is today.

All members thanked Brian Tsuji for his amazing work he has done as President and beyond. He provided a collegial leadership to ISAP, was a huge supporter of all Young Investigator activities and organized scientific symposia and strategically liaised new collaborations for ISAP. THANK YOU, Brian!

Election of Council members for the term 2020-2022

  • Sebastian Wicha (President)
  • Jian Li (President Elect)
  • Zack Bulman (Treasurer)
  • Elisabet Nielsen (Secretariat)
  • Iris Minichmayr (Secretariat)
  • Council members: Lena Friberg, Markus Zeitlinger, Brian Tsuji, Jürgen Bulitta, Cornelia Landersdorfer, Alina Nussbaumer-Pröll, Nicholas Smith

It is a great to have so many new members on board to join and shape the future of ISAP!


Update on ISAP activities

PKPD Webinar (in collaboration with EPASG) – SAVE THE DATE: November 24 2020 –

In collaboration with EPASG, there will be a webinar on “Modeling SARS-Cov-2 viral dynamics to optimize therapy”, by Dr Jeremie Guedj from INSERM, Paris, France held on November 24 2020 4PM CET. The details to join the meeting will be provided in another newsletter. Welcome!


ASCPT Pre-Conference 2020

A pre-conference to the ASCPT meeting titled “Translational and Clinical Pharmacology Advances in Anti-Infective Development” was planned for March 18 2019 in collaboration with ASCPT and SIDP. The ISAP contribution was organized by Hartmut Derendorf. A number of ISAP speakers (Lena Friberg, Corneial Landersdorfer, Sebastian Wicha) were scheduled for contributing presentations to the pre-conference. No follow up meeting is planned at this stage, but instead a call for papers to a special issue on Anti-Infectives has been launched in Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics. Read more here, in case you wish to contribute.

Antimicrobial Pharmacology at ISICEM 2020 – scheduled for Autumn 2021

ISAP contributed a clinically-oriented session on “Pharmacology of Antibiotics” to the International Symposium on Intensive Care & Emergency Medicine (ISICEM). Iris Minichmayr and Sebastian Wicha were scheduled to contribute presentations on PKPD relationships of antibiotics and interactive case studies for dose individualization. At this stage, the conference is re-scheduled for March 2021. Read more here, in case you are interested to attend.

Face-to-face Meeting(s) 2021

As you all know, the current situation makes it difficult to predict if we can meet in person next year. Potential candidates for a face-to-face meeting are pre or post ECCMID (Vienna, 9-12 July 2021) or a US-based meeting. We will keep you informed.

Online meetings

We are planning a series of regional online meetings to foster scientific exchange between ISAP members. Stay tuned.


Scientific Meeting of ISAP – Young Investigator session

As per the ISAP tradition, also in our virtual meeting, Young Investigators presented their research in the traditional Young Investigator session. The presentation topics ranged from pre-clinical, mechanistic PK-PD studies up to clinical applications of PK-PD. All research was presented very comprehensively and to the highest scientific standards. Congratulations to all Young Investigators!

Presenter Title
Zhi Ying Kho Omics of the tripartite relationships among Acinetobacter baumannii, polymyxin and macrophage
Jinxin Zhao Genome-scale metabolic modelling of multidrug-resistant Acinetobacter baumannii revealed significant metabolic changes during bloodstream infection in mice
Niklas Krömer Adaptive optimal design to support efficient high throughput screening of in vitro pharmacodynamic drug interaction studies
Alina Nussbaumer-Pröll Comparison of dosage strategies of meropenem vs. Escherichia coli and Pseudomonas aeruginosa
Tan Xing Activity of simulated ELF concentrations of inhaled and intravenous tobramycin and polymyxin B against Pseudomonas aeruginosa in an in vitro dynamic biofilm model
Hubert Chjua Antiretroviral and β-lactam Combinations against NDM-Producing Klebsiella pneumoniae: Repurposing Zidovudine as Salvage Therapy 
Anders Thorsted Translational modelling of innate immune response following lipopolysaccharide challenge: from piglets to humans 
Josefine Schulz Feasibility investigations of simultaneous microdialysis of voriconazole and its N-oxide metabolite
Luis Ilia Identification and quantification of microdialysis variability using an integrated in vitro, ex vivo and in silico approach.
Anne-Grete Märtson Caspofungin weight-based dosing